Thomas Jefferson Award

To honor faculty and staff who have significantly enriched the intellectual and civic life of the Emory community, the Thomas Jefferson Award, named and endowed by the Robert Earl McConnell Foundation, is presented annually at Commencement. The award honors a member of the faculty or staff for significant service to Emory University through personal activities, influence, and leadership, usually over the course of many years.

The award recognizes personal and professional integrity as well as distinguished service in several of the following areas:

  • Teaching
  • Research and scholarship
  • Non-academic accomplishments related to students
  • University advancement and development in relation to the entire university or to an area, school, or division
  • Community or educational service on the local, state, national, or international level

The Process

The Office of the Provost coordinates the selection process of the Jefferson Award, starting in early January with a letter to the entire university community to invite nominations.

Any university employee may make a nomination by sending the nominee's CV or resume and an original letter of nomination directed to the attention of the chair and members of the Jefferson Award selection committee. All nomination materials should be sent to Tom Jenkins, Senior Director of Academic and Strategic Initiatives, who will distribute the nomination materials to the chair and selection committee.

  • The deadline for 2018 nominations is Thursday, February 15, 2018 at 5 p.m.

The chair and selection committee, comprised of the previous four award recipients, will review all nominations and recommend three finalists to the provost, who will make the final selection.

Nominations remain in active status for one year.

Recipients of the Thomas Jefferson Award

School | Unit
Charles E. Moore School of Medicine Otolaryngology 2018
Carol Hogue School of Public Health Epidemiology 2017
Eloise Carter Oxford College Biology 2016
Bobbi Patterson Emory College Religion 2015
Carlos del Rio School of Public Health Global Health 2014
Nadine Kaslow School of Medicine Psychology 2013
Peggy Barlett Emory College Anthropology 2012
Dennis C. Liotta Emory College Chemistry 2011
Rudolph P. Byrd Emory College African American Studies 2010
W. Ronald Schuchard Emory College English 2009
Rosemary Magee Administration University Secretary 2008
Melissa Maxcy Wade Campus Life Barkley Forum 2007
Frank Alexander School of Law Law 2006
Richard Levinson School of Public Health Behavioral Sciences and Health Education 2005
Thomas Burns Emory College History 2004
Eleanor Main Emory College Political Science 2003
Irwin Hyatt Emory College History 2002
Marshall Duke Emory College Psychology 2001
Jacqueline Irvine Emory College Educational Studies 2000
Harvey E. Klehr Emory College Political Science 1999
Robert L. DeHaan Emory College Educational Studies 1998
Billy E. Frye Administration Chancellor 1997
John R. Boring III School of Public Health Epidemiology 1996
George W. Brumley School of Medicine Pediatrics 1995
Jonas A. Shulman School of Medicine Infectious Diseases 1994
Donna J. Brogan School of Public Health Biostatistics and Bioinformatics 1993
Delores P. Aldridge Emory College African American Studies 1992
Eugene J. Gangarosa School of Medicine Public Health 1991
William H. Murdy Oxford College Dean 1990
William Mallard School of Theology Religion 1989
James A. Bain School of Medicine
J. Russell Major
Emory College History 1986
John M. Palms Emory College Physics 1985
Herbert R. Karp School of Medicine Neurology 1984
John H. Stone School of Medicine Emergency Medicine 1983
Dora H. Skypek Emory College Educational Studies 1982
Jack S. Boozer Emory College Religion 1981
Marella Walker Libraries Research 1980
Alfred E. Wilhelmi School of Medicine Biochemistry 1979
Robert H. Rohrer Emory College Physics 1978
Charles T. Lester Emory College Chemistry 1977
Arthur P. Richardson School of Medicine Pharmacology 1976
Judson C. Ward Jr. Administration Executive Vice President 1975
R.A. Day Jr. Emory College Chemistry 1974
William H. Agnor School of Law Law 1973
Robert B. Platt Emory College Biology 1972
George P. Cuttino Emory College History 1971
Gregor Sebba Emory College Philosophy 1970
James Harvey Young Emory College History 1969
Floyd C. Watkins Emory College English 1968
William H. Jones Emory College Chemistry 1967
Evangeline T. Papageorge School of Medicine Chemistry 1966
E.H. Rece Emory College Religion 1965
Edwin T. Martin Emory College English 1964
William A. Strozier Emory College Romance Languages 1963
Woolford B. Baker Emory College Biology 1962