National Academy of Sciences

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit society chartered by the U.S. Congress in 1863 to provide independent, objective advice about science and technology. Members are elected in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

In 2015, the National Academy of Sciences joined the National Academy of Medicine and the National Academy of Engineering in the newly formed National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine ("the Academies").

Members of the National Academy of Sciences

Year of Election
Rafi Ahmed School of Medicine Immunology 2009
Max Cooper School of Medicine Immunology 1998
Frans de Waal Emory College Psychology 2004
Bruce Levin Emory College Evolutionary Biology 2012
Stephen Warren School of Medicine Human Genetics 2011