Students walking on campus

Undergraduate Council

Emory commits to creating an outstanding educational experience for undergraduates. The Undergraduate Council prioritizes the student experience, removing barriers to undergraduates’ success and positioning them to flourish at Emory and beyond.

Launched in spring 2022, the Undergraduate Council, led by Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs Ravi V. Bellamkonda, brings together Emory leaders from across campus. The council collectively addresses opportunities for improving the academic, cocurricular, and administrative elements of the Emory undergraduate student experience and collaborates to implement solutions. Meeting monthly, the council will identify metrics against which to measure success.



Ravi V. Bellamkonda, Provost and Executive Vice Provost for Academic Affairs


Susan Bonifield, Senior Vice Provost for Strategic and Resource Planning

Joanne Brzinski, Senior Associate Dean, Emory College of Arts and Sciences

Paul Byrnes, Vice Provost for Academic Finance

Janine Cabrera-Velde, Director of Customer Experience

Kenneth Carter, Interim Dean, Oxford College

David Clark, Vice President of Campus Life

Sarbeth Fleming, Associate Dean of Admission and Director of Onboarding and Student Flourishing

Carla Freeman, Interim Dean, Emory College of Arts and Sciences

Frank Gaertner, Senior Associate Director of International Student Advising

Enku Gelaye, Senior Vice President and Dean of Campus Life

Minnie Glymph, Assistant Vice President for Academic Communications

Branden Grimmett, Vice Provost for Career and Professional Development and Associate Dean of Emory College of Arts and Sciences

Andrea Hershatter, Senior Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education and Director of the BBA Program, Goizueta Business School

Gareth James, Dean, Goizueta Business School

John Leach, Associate Vice Provost for University Financial Aid

Kristy Martyn, Associate Dean for Education and Interim Associate Dean for Advancement, Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing

JoAnn McKenzie, Associate Vice Provost and University Registrar

Valerie Molyneaux, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Oxford College

Heather Mugg, Associate Vice Provost for Undergraduate Affairs

James Raper, Associate Vice President for Health, Well-being, Access, and Prevention

Justin Shepherd, Assistant Vice Provost for Institutional Research and Decision Support