Main content

Academic Leadership Program

The Emory Academic Leadership Program, an Office of the Provost initiative managed by the Center for Faculty Development and Excellence (CFDE), provides specialized training and development for the next generation of academic leaders.

The program brings together faculty members from both Emory and Atlanta-area colleges and universities, including Agnes Scott College, Clark Atlanta University, Georgia State University, Georgia Institute of Technology, Morehouse College, and Spelman College.

The curriculum is designed to help participants focus on their individual leadership development, to enhance their understanding of the complexity of the university, and to create a pipeline of future university leaders.

Participants attend a series of workshops with applied learning in topics such as:

  • Conflict resolution
  • Diversity and inclusion
  • Leadership styles
  • Legal affairs
  • Management skills
  • Media and communications
  • Strategic planning
  • University finance, planning, and assessment

The annual program schedule, based on the academic calendar, starts in August and ends the following April.

The selection process starts in the spring semester for the following year's program. The Office of the Provost invites nominations from the deans of Emory's nine schools and Atlanta-area colleges and universities, reviews nominations, and notifies selected candidates.

Emory University | 2017-2018 Participants

Joseph Crespino

Emory College of Arts and Sciences

Dabney P. Evans

Rollins School of Public Health

Wendy Greene

School of Medicine

Timothy R. Holbrook

School of Law

Joel LeMon

Candler School of Theology

Molly McGehee

Oxford College

Ann E. Rogers

Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing

Ann Schwartz

School of Medicine

Drenna Waldrop-Valverde

Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing

Li Xiong

Emory College of Arts and Sciences

Atlanta Colleges and Schools | 2017-2018 Participants

Mel Foster

Morehouse College

Jonathan Gayles

Georgia State University

Mark E. Lee

Spelman College

Amy Lovell

Agnes Scott College

Teri Platt

Clark Atlanta University

Jenny Singleton

Georgia Institute of Technology