Exemplary Teacher Award

Exemplary Teacher of the Year Award

The Exemplary Teacher of the Year Award, presented annually at Commencement, is a faculty honor supported by the United Methodist Church's General Board of Higher Education and Ministry.

The selection criteria for the award include:

  • Demonstration of exceptional teaching
  • Recognized concern for students and colleagues, and sensitivity to the mission of the church-related university
  • A record of significant contributions to the scholarly life of the university
  • Commitment to high standards of professional and personal life

In support of Emory's belief that "the intellectual and social energy that results from diversity is a primary asset of the university," special consideration should be given to nominees that reflect this commitment to inclusiveness.

Nominations are solicited from the members of the university community early in the calendar year.

They should include a nomination letter highlighting the candidate's specific qualifications for this award, along with the nominee's CV, so that a final candidate for Emory may be identified. All nomination materials should be sent to the director of faculty affairs.

List of Recipients

Ira SchwartzSchool of MedicineFamily and Preventive Medicine2023
Jennifer R. AyresSchool of TheologyReligious Education2022
Jada Bussey-JonesSchool of MedicineInternal Medicine2021
Deborah LipstadtEmory CollegeHistory2020
Mary Jo LechowiczSchool of MedicineHematology and Medical Oncology2019
Michelle LamplEmory CollegeAnthropology2018
Carol AndersonEmory CollegeAfrican American Studies2017
Nancy J. ThompsonSchool of Public HealthBehavioral Sciences and Health Education2016
Thomas G. LongSchool of TheologyPreaching2015
Abdullahi An-Na'imSchool of LawLaw2014
Leslie HarrisEmory CollegeHistory2013
Sarah B. FreemanSchool of NursingNursing2012
David LynnEmory CollegeChemistry2011
E. Brooks HolifieldSchool of TheologyAmerican Church History2010
Martha FinemanSchool of LawLaw2009
Richard FreerSchool of LawLaw2008
Peter J. BrownEmory CollegeAnthropology2007
Frances Smith FosterEmory CollegeEnglish and Women's Studies2006
James FowlerSchool of TheologyTheology2005
Laura Porter KimbleSchool of NursingNursing2004
Lucas CarpenterOxford CollegeEnglish2003
Al L. HartgravesBusiness SchoolAccounting2002
Arthur KellermannSchool of MedicineEmergency Medicine2001
Walter ReedEmory CollegeEnglish2000
Don E. SaliersSchool of TheologyTheology1999
George H. JonesEmory CollegeBiology1998
Elaine WalkerEmory CollegePsychology1997
Merle BlackEmory CollegePolitical Science1996
Harvey E. KlehrEmory CollegePolitical Science1995
John WitteSchool of LawLaw1994
Richard M. LevinsonSchool of Public HealthBehavioral Sciences and Health Education1993
Harold J. BermanSchool of LawLaw1992
Ulric NeisserEmory CollegePsychology1991
John H. StoneSchool of MedicineCardiology1990
Frank A. ManleyEmory CollegeCreative Writing1989
Albert PadwaEmory CollegeChemistry1988
Carlos V. RojasEmory CollegeSpanish Literature1987
Thomas R. FlynnEmory CollegePhilosophy1986
Dan T. CarterEmory CollegeHistory1985
Floyd C. WatkinsEmory CollegeEnglish1984
William B. DillinghamEmory CollegeEnglish1983
Arthur R. EvansEmory CollegeRomance Languages1982
William A. BeardsleeSchool of TheologyReligion1981