Graduate and Professional Education Teaching Award

Provost's Distinguished Teaching Award for Excellence in Graduate and Professional Education

The Provost's Distinguished Teaching Award for Excellence in Graduate and Professional Education recognizes outstanding scholars who excel as teachers within formal and informal educational settings.

The award is given annually at Commencement to one faculty member in each of the seven graduate and professional schools in recognition of the important role of exceptional teaching in graduate and professional education.

  • Goizueta Business School
  • Laney Graduate School
  • School of Law
  • School of Medicine
  • Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing
  • Rollins School of Public Health
  • Candler School of Theology

Award recipients will receive a framed citation and $4,000 honorarium conferred at the school's graduation recognition ceremony.

  • Any full-time faculty member currently teaching graduate or professional students is eligible; visiting faculty members are not eligible.
  • Nominees must be teaching in the academic year in which they are selected for the award.
  • Individuals cannot receive the Provost's Distinguished Teaching Award more than once every five years.

Recipients will hold a record of sustained excellence and innovation in teaching. The award honors faculty who:

  • Foster participation, inquiry, creative expression, and significant contributions within and beyond formal educational settings
  • Engage diverse students in ambitious learning
  • Dedicate themselves to advancing the art and science of teaching and learning (as evidenced, for example, by the development of courses and innovative curricula; leading workshops on pedagogy; utilizing innovative teaching approaches and technologies)
  • Make significant contributions that impact and advance the university through teaching
  • Serve as mentors to students outside of formal classroom settings
  • Form effective mentoring and advising relationships with graduate/professional students

The Office of the Provost sends out the Provost's Distinguished Teaching Award call for nominations annually. The dean in each graduate/professional school will establish a process that includes these key features:

  • A school-based selection committee consisting of four faculty members and three students. There is no other criterion for selection committee membership. Submit the list of committee members to the assistant vice provost for faculty affairs.
  • Seek nominations of faculty members who have demonstrated excellence in teaching graduate and professional students. Nominations must come from the school's students, faculty, departments (if applicable), and alumni. The school's call for nomination must include the award criteria outlined above.
  • Submit the selection dossier of the school's award recipient to the assistant vice provost for faculty affairs. The selection dossier will include the faculty member's employee ID number, CV, and a comprehensive letter of justification from the dean. The dean's letter should describe the faculty member's record of achievement, their impact, supporting reasons for the selection, as well as the recipient's current involvement with teaching.

The Office of the Provost will create and frame the award citation, as well as process the payment. Schools will be notified by email when the citation is ready to be picked up.

List of Recipients

2023 Recipients
Rajiv GargBusiness SchoolInformation Systems and Operations Management
Amanda I. GillespieSchool of Medicine
Kimberly HagenSchool of Public HealthBehavioral, Social, and Health Education Sciences
Joel B. KempSchool of TheologyHebrew Bible
Emmanuel Y. LarteySchool of TheologyPastoral Theology and Spiritual Care
Matthew B. LawrenceSchool of LawLaw
Erica MooreSchool of NursingNursing

2021 Recipients
Lauren E. McCulloughSchool of Public HealthEpidemiology
Mary S. DolanSchool of Medicine
Regine HaardörferGraduate SchoolBehavioral, Social, and Health Education
Ryan HamiltonBusiness SchoolMarketing
Randee J. WaldmanSchool of LawLaw
Jennifer R. AyresSchool of TheologyReligious Education
Kenneth Joseph MuellerSchool of NursingNursing

2021 Recipients
Elizabeth M. BoundsSchool of TheologyChristian Ethics
Jaffar KhanSchool of MedicineNeurology
Paul KosterSchool of LawLaw
Benjamin ReissGraduate SchoolEnglish
Omar Rodríguez-ViláBusiness SchoolMarketing
Briana Woods-JaegarSchool of Public HealthBehavioral, Social, and Health Education Sciences
Phyllis WrightSchool of NursingNursing

2020 Recipients
Cecelia BellcrossSchool of MedicineHuman Genetics
Dian Dowling EvansSchool of NursingNursing
Monique HenninkSchool of Public HealthGlobal Health
Helen KimSchool of TheologyAmerican Religious History
Michael KramerGraduate SchoolEpidemiology
Robert ParrishSchool of LawLaw
Usha RackliffeBusiness SchoolAccounting

2019 Recipients
Ellen Ott MarshallGraduate SchoolChristian Ethics and Conflict Transformation
Ramnath ChellappaBusiness SchoolInformation Systems and Operations Management
Kamina PinderSchool of LawLaw
Lisa BernsteinSchool of MedicineMedicine
Kelly Wiltse NicelySchool of NursingNursing
Mitchel KleinSchool of Public HealthEnvironmental Health
Nichole PhillipsSchool of TheologySociology, Religion, and Culture