Robert W. Woodruff Professors

The Robert W. Woodruff professorships honor teacher-scholars of distinction who serve a broad constituency beyond individual departments and programs and provide a unifying force to graduate education. The awards, made by presidential appointment, attract outstanding faculty to Emory.

These professorships, named for legendary philanthropist and former president of The Coca-Cola Company Robert W. Woodruff, are endowed by the Emily and Ernest Woodruff Fund. Emory considers Robert W. Woodruff (1889–1985) a 1912 Emory College alumnus although he dropped out after one semester. In subsequent years, he concentrated his many gifts to the university in the areas of health care, the arts, conservation of nature, and civic affairs.

List of Recipients

Deborah Watkins BrunerSchool of NursingNursing
Shoshana FelmanEmory CollegeComparative Literature and French
Martha Albertson FinemanSchool of LawLaw
Peng JinSchool of MedicineHuman Genetics
Allan I. LeveySchool of MedicineNeurology
Reynaldo MartorellSchool of Public HealthInternational Nutrition 
Ian A. McFarlandSchool of TheologyTheology 
Vikas P. SukhatmeSchool of MedicineMedicine and Cancer Research
Kenneth E. ThorpeSchool of Public HealthHealth Policy
John Witte Jr.School of LawLaw