Academic Leadership Program

The Emory Academic Leadership program, an Office of the Provost initiative managed by the Center for Faculty Development and Excellence (CFDE), provides specialized training and development for the next generation of academic leaders.

The program brings together faculty members from both Emory and Atlanta-area colleges and universities, including Agnes Scott College, Clark Atlanta University, Georgia State University, Georgia Institute of Technology, Morehouse College, and Spelman College.

The curriculum is designed to help participants focus on their individual leadership development, to enhance their understanding of the complexity of the university, and to create a pipeline of future university leaders.

Participants attend a series of workshops with applied learning in topics such as:

  • Conflict resolution
  • Diversity and inclusion
  • Leadership styles
  • Legal affairs
  • Management skills
  • Media and communications
  • Strategic planning
  • University finance, planning, and assessment

The biennial program schedule, based on the academic calendar, starts in August and ends the following April.

The selection process starts in the spring semester for the following year's program. The Office of the Provost invites nominations from the deans of Emory's nine schools and Atlanta-area colleges and universities, reviews nominations, and notifies selected candidates.

Emory University | 2019–2020 Participants

Anandhi Bharadwaj

Goizueta Business School

Patricia "Patty" Brennan

Emory College of Arts and Sciences

Jennifer Heemstra

Emory College of Arts and Sciences

Vicki Hertzberg

Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing

Elena Pesavento

Emory College of Arts and Sciences

Nichole Powell

Oxford College

Sheila Rauch

School of Medicine

John Roback

School of Medicine

Stefanie Ebelt

Rollins School of Public Health

Ani Satz

School of Law

Atlanta Colleges and Schools | 2018–2020 Participants

Elisabeth Burgess

Georgia State University

Jonathan Clarke

Georgia Institute of Technology

Gundolf Graml

Agnes Scott College

Sheila Gregory

Clark Atlanta University

Keith Howard

Morehouse College